Glen Phillips and Grant-Lee Phillips

A few weeks ago, I got the chance to see (and meet!) two of my favorite singer-songwriters, Grant-Lee Phillips (of the band Grant Lee Buffalo) and Glen Phillips (from Toad the Wet Sprocket).

Both Grant-Lee and Glen are amazing songwriters and vocalists, and I urge you to check out their music if you haven’t already.

Glen opened with one of my favorite songs, “Crowing” and Grant-Lee opened with one of my favorite songs of his, “Honey Don’t Think”. I was lucky and we had excellent seats and to anyone in the Chicago area, I would highly recommend seeing a show at the City Winery due to the excellent sound, ambiance and food. It’s a great way to see some amazing musicians up close. Here’s a few of the pics I took below. We were about five feet from the stage and it was one of the best shows I’ve ever seen. šŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Glen Phillips and Grant-Lee Phillips

  1. My 11 year-old son and I attended this show; it was wonderful. We sat to the right of the stage as you’re facing it, and we were one table away from the stage. My son and I are huge Grant-Lee Phillips fans, and now we are fans of Glen Phillips. We drove from St. Louis the day of the show and ended up sleeping in our car afterward. It was a great son/dad trip.

    • It was such a great show! We actually roadtripped too, from Michigan (even though they were performing in Michigan the next day, the timing of the Chicago show was more convenient.) I’m a big fan of Glen and his work with TTWS, but I’ve been a fan of Grant-Lee longer and was so happy he played many of my favorites from Mighty Joe Moon. I actually took a video of “Happiness” but haven’t uploaded it (didn’t realize I wasn’t allowed to take video until my husband told me after the show).

Leave a Reply

