sweetness follows

I don’t think I can describe in words how profoundly music has influenced my life.  It’s personal and something I think most people wouldn’t understand.  R.E.M. is one of those bands that has had such a strong influence on my life that it’s impossible to explain.

Anyway, I was elated when I saw a package from R.E.M. in the mail.  It’s their annual fan club gift package and I wasn’t even expecting to receive one, which I was very sad about, since I had slipped a few months on my renewal and then they broke up and I wasn’t ABLE to renew… I just figured that I had missed out on their last ever mailing, which always includes some special songs specifically released to fan club members and things like that.  I was devastated that they haven’t toured in Michigan for the better part of a decade, and now they were breaking up and leaving me alone, with no future music to look forward to, on one of the worst years of my life.  I understand their reasoning that farewell tours seem like a cash grab and things like that, but I still wanted the opportunity to see them live again!

After receiving this in the mail, I felt a little better.  They didn’t have to do this, and I appreciate it so much.

The lyrics are perfect for a Christmas card, but as soon as I saw the words, I knew it was from Sweetness Follows.  A dark moody song from their 1992 album Automatic for the People.  Which I love.  Strangely, it captures 2011 for me… there are some lyrics that literally describe what has been going on.  2011 has been dark and horrible but I can still see the light reflecting from the dark.

 

I’m really hoping 2012 doesn’t suck.

xoxoxoxox

Nancy

Leave a Reply

