The Long Distance Commute

When I became aware that I might be accepting a job that was over sixty miles away from my house, I tried to research the ways of the road warrior on the internet.  I didn’t really find too much.  There were some stories of people who would commute an hour and a half each way to work (usually by train in a large city like New York), but not too many stories of people who drove an hour (or more) to work each way.  I wanted to know if there were any tips or tricks of handling the traffic and what to expect.

I’ve only been commuting to my new job for two weeks and I am sooooooo done with this drive.  I want to move to a place that is between five or ten minutes from my new job and I wanted that done yesterday.

The drive itself doesn’t bother me too much; although the drive back home seems infinitely longer than the drive to work.  (Honestly, us Metro Detroiters are used to driving anyway).  What bothers me is the two hours that is missing from my day, every day.  The ten hours that is missing from my week, every week.  How do long distance commuters deal with that?!  I want the scoop.

I’ve tried less sleep, going down to about seven hours a night.  The next place I could cut back, I suppose, would be on grooming – wear no make-up?  My hair doesn’t look too bad if I let it air dry instead of blow drying it and it saves me about five to ten minutes.  I started doing that when I was running late one day.

The real solution, is moving…

I’m still curious about what people do when they love their jobs but love where they live and have a long, horrible commute.

One thought on “The Long Distance Commute

Leave a Reply

