The Friend of Musicians. Tales of the New/Old Piano

I got a package today from Musician’s Friend.  It contained two packs of guitar strings and also some egg shakers (for interesting percussion, of course.)  I highly recommend coated strings; they sound awesome for a LONG time.  They feel kinda weird though, but it doesn’t take too long to get used to it.

For those who are interested, here is a detail photo of my piano:

the old wurlitzer

the old wurlitzer

I ordered a piano tuning wrench, which I hope to be receiving in the mail shortly.  I know that I might be crazy, but I’m going to try to tune it first by myself.  If it doesn’t work out too well, then I suppose I’ll have to hire an expert.

The piano is old, dusty and smells like ancient cigarette smoke.  I have polished it and dusted it but I could probably still clean it a few times as the poor thing has been sorely neglected.  Right now, there are only a few keys in the highest octave which are remotely in tune… every other key has a sort of horrifying, dissonant, make-you-go-insane-with-how-bad-it-sounds ring to it.

I looked up the piano maker, Wurlitzer, on wikipedia.  It looks like they were more well-known for making jukeboxes than pianos.  I just hope I can make this one sound good…

One thought on “The Friend of Musicians. Tales of the New/Old Piano

Leave a Reply

